Course Material

Accredited training

FITA facilitates training that is accredited by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) and is part of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).

Certificates of achievement are issued to the installer by Construction, Education and Training Authority (CETA) once training is complete.

This means that any accreditation done through FITA is government recognised.

The qualification we currently utilise is called a National Certificate: Construction: Installation of Floor Coverings

New qualifications coming soon

However, FITA is working with industry experts and CETA to create new qualifications, listed below

  1. Artificial (Recreational) Grass
  2. Bamboo Floor
  3. Carpet
  4. Ceramics, Stone and Glass
  5. Laminate
  6. Linoleum
  7. Raised Access
  8. Real Wood
  9. Resin
  10. Rubber Floor
  11. Seamless Floor
  12. Vinyl
  13. Wet Pour Rubber Floor
  14. Cork Floor
  15. Floor Finisher Supervisor

This means an installer will be able to qualify themselves from NQF 1 – NQF 4 (equivalent of Grade 9 – Grade 12) in more than one flooring type.

Finally, flooring is an attractive career option with real growth prospects.

What does this mean for an installer today?

If an installer is already skilled in these flooring types, FITA will issue them with an official title to confirm this.

Once the new qualifications are complete, an installer can do a simple Recognition of Prior Learning assessment to get an official, government recognized accreditation.